UTOPIA » OPENING RECEPTION » NOVEMBER 6, 2016

The concept of utopia, a society free of poverty and suffering, has been around for centuries. However, the concept of utopia can shift and change based upon the person imagining such a place. What is your version of utopia? Can such a place exist? Can we have utopia without dystopia? 

UTOPIA is a submission-based curated group exhibition. It is open to all media and disciplines, including but not limited to: 2D, 3D, installation, performance, dance, music, theater, written word, and/or spoken word. Curators are Kelsey Karper and romy owens.

ARTISTS

Gloryah Allen - Charlottesville, VA
Iman Alsadenimanalsaden.com - Chicago, IL
Becky Arman - beckyarman.com - Edmond, OK
Kerry Azzarello* - Oklahoma City
Pete Burkeet - peteburkeet555.wordpress.com - Columbus, OH
Jason Cytacki* - jasoncytacki.com - Norman, OK
Daniel Dean - mynameisdanieldean.com - Minneapolis, MN
Rena Detrixhe* -  renadetrixhe.com - Tulsa, OK
Sarah Engel - sarahengelbarnett.com - Norman, OK
J.V. Green - jvgreen.net - Tulsa, OK
Alexis Hazel - alexishazelart.com - Marlow, OK
Mary Ketch - maryjamesketch.com - Norman, OK
Hye Young Kim - hyekimstudio.com - Greensboro, NC
Mandy Messina - mandymessina.com - Oklahoma City
Mark Pease - markpease.com - Carbondale, IL
Christian Schultz - Oklahoma City
Heath Schultz* - heathschultz.com - Austin, TX
Ramiro Silva - Chicago, IL
Cheryl Megan Smith - cherylmegan.com - Philadelphia, PA
Tony Thunder - Oklahoma City
Jarica Walsh - jaricawalsh.com - Oklahoma City
Jason Wilson - artbyjasonwilson.com - Hartshorne, OK

*Artists have been awarded a $250 honorarium for proposal based installation, performance, or other ephemeral artwork created specifically for UTOPIA.  

TIMELINE

  • October 27 - 29, 2016 - Artwork delivery
  • October 27 through November 3, 2016 - Artwork installation
  • November 6, 2016 - Opening Reception/Awards Announced/Sunday Soup
  • November 8, 2016 - Election Day
  • November 10, 2016 - Current Thursdays: UTOPIA
  • December 8, 2016 - Current Thursdays: UTOPIA
  • December 23, 2016 - Exhibition closes
Mark Pease » Artificial Vue: Carmel » 2016 » Archival Inkjet Print » 65" x 44"

Mark Pease » Artificial Vue: Carmel » 2016 » Archival Inkjet Print » 65" x 44"

 

SPONSORED BY: